Friday 3 July 2009

The reorganisation of Norwegian College of Fishery Science

The Norwegian College of Fishery Science was in 1988 merged with University of Tromsø, organised as a faculty. This year the university merged with another university institution in Tromsø, leading to a new process of reconstruction. The university board has decided to keep the former faculty name, now constituting a much smaller interdisciplinary department within the new Faculty of bioscience, fishery and economics. The new faculty formally opens first of October this year and includes three departments: Norwegian College of Fishery Science, Tromsø Business School and Department of Arctic and Marine Biology, the latter being by far the largest department.

The new Norwegian College of Fishery Science (NCFS, also known as NFH – Norges fiskerihøgskole) will be responsible for bachelor and master programmes in fisheries sciences, both traditional Norwegian programmes and the ten year old master programme in international fisheries management (IFM). A new programme structure is expected to be worked out within the first year of the new department.

Professor Edel Elvevoll is from 1 August 2009 appointed as the first dean of the new faculty. The position as Head of department at the new Norwegian College of Fishery Science is announced and will be engaged during the second half of 2009.

No comments:

Post a Comment